New Life - Digital Download

New Life Album cover - hi res.jpg
New Life Album cover - hi res.jpg

New Life - Digital Download

3.33 7.00

‘New Life’ album by Flying Machines, including PDF album e-booklet with liner notes and jpeg of cover art.

Add To Cart

***Digital album (MP3) available here only for just £3.33***

Having established themselves as one of the biggest breakthrough acts to have emerged from the exploding UK jazz scene in recent years, Flying Machines continue their rapid ascent with the release of their second album New Life.

New Life represents a significant milestone in the band’s development. In partnership with Grammy, MOBO and Mercury nominated producer Sonny Johns, the band’s trademark fusion of contemporary jazz with progressive rock has been lifted to soaring new heights. From thundering, all out metal assaults, to ambient meditations and plaintive melodies, New Life sees Flying Machines pushing the envelope in terms of extremities of dynamics and explorations of form, with a marked leap forward in production values. The band also document their foray into the anarchic freedom of group improvisation for the first time, with unrestrained, improvised interludes that dove tail gracefully into more expansive and through-composed tracks, a risk-embracing approach that now informs the band’s electric live performances.


released October 19, 2018

Alex Munk - Guitars
Matt Robinson - Piano, Synths, Fender Rhodes
Conor Chaplin - Electric Bass
Dave Hamblett - Drums

All compositions by Alex Munk, except tracks 2, 6 and 9, made by the band on the fly.

Recorded at Livingston Studio 1, 8-10th January and Fish Factory 21st February 2018. Mixed at Nave Studios 9-13th March 2018.
Recorded and mixed by Sonny Johns
Mastered by Tom Leader
Produced by Sonny Johns and Alex Munk
Executive Producer Martin Hummel

Design by Split
Astrophotography by Gabe Shaughnessy